The bioMérieux Sonnenwirth Award for Leadership in Clinical Microbiology / Sciences de la Vie / Prix et récompenses scientifiques - CIRS

Centre International de Recherche Scientifique

Prix et récompenses scientifiques / Sciences de la Vie

The bioMérieux Sonnenwirth Award for Leadership in Clinical Microbiology

American Society for Microbiology


Sponsored by bioMérieux, Inc.

Purpose of the Award : Honors a distinguished microbiologist who has exhibited exemplary leadership in clinical microbiology. Recognizes promotion of innovation in clinical laboratory science, high dedication and commitment to the American Society for Microbiology (ASM), and to the advancement of clinical microbiology as a profession. Established in memory of Alexander Sonnenwirth, Ph.D., who personified these characteristics.

Eligibility : Any microbiologist identified with clinical microbiology.


2005 bioMérieux Sonnenwirth Award Winner : Joseph M. Campos, Ph.D., Department of Laboratory Medicine at the Children’s National Medical Center in Washington, DC, and a Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology. Dr. Campos is honored for his pioneering work and service in the area of pediatric clinical microbiology. Dr. Campos has contributed extensively to the field of clinical microbiology, having authored more than 100 articles and book chapters dealing with topics related to pediatric clinical microbiology and the use of informatics in the clinical microbiology laboratory.

Mentions légales - Contact

Copyright © 2013 - - Tous droits réservés