Euler Book Prize / Mathématiques / Prix et récompenses scientifiques - CIRS

Centre International de Recherche Scientifique

Prix et récompenses scientifiques / Mathématiques

Euler Book Prize

Mathematical Association of America


The Euler Book Prize shall be given to the author or authors of an outstanding book about mathematics. Mathematical monographs at the undergraduate level, histories, biographies, works of mathematical fiction, and anthologies shall be among those types of books eligible for the Prize. They shall be judged on clarity of exposition and the degree to which they have had or show promise of having a positive impact on the public’s view of mathematics in the United States and Canada. A textbook, though not normally eligible for this award, could be recognized if the Committee on the Euler Book Prize is convinced that it is innovative, distinctive, well written, and very likely to have a long-standing impact on mathematics.

The prize was established in 2005 and will be given every year at a national meeting of the Association, beginning in 2007, the 300th anniversary of the birth of Leonhard Euler. This award also honors Virginia and Paul Halmos whose generosity made the award possible.


John Derbyshire, Prime Obsession: Bernhard Riemann and the Greatest Unsolved Problem in Mathematics, Joseph Henry Press (National Academies Press), 2003.

Mentions légales - Contact

Copyright © 2013 - - Tous droits réservés