Dorothy Hill Award / General / Scientific prizes and awards - CIRS

International Center for Scientific Research

Scientific prizes and awards / General

Dorothy Hill Award

Australian Academy of Science


The Dorothy Hill Award honours the contributions of Professor Dorothy Hill, FAA, to Australian science and her work in opening up tertiary science education to women. Professor Hill was the first, and to date, the only female president of the Australian Academy of Science.

The award supports research in the Earth sciences including reef science, ocean drilling, marine science and taxonomy in marine systems, by female researchers under 40 years at the closing date, except in the case of significant interruptions to a research career. An honorarium of $5000 (GST exempt) is awarded. The award is made annually and is restricted to candidates who are normally resident in Australia and for research conducted mainly in Australia.


2005 winner : M.J.H. van Oppen

Legal notice - Contact

Copyright © 2013 - - All rights reserved