Prestwich Medal / Earth sciences / Scientific prizes and awards - CIRS

International Center for Scientific Research

Scientific prizes and awards / Earth sciences

Prestwich Medal

Geological Society of London


Established under the will of Sir Joseph Prestwich (1812-96) 'to apply the accumulated annual proceeds…at the end of every three years, in providing a Gold Medal to the value of Twenty Pounds which, with the remainder of the proceeds is to be awarded… to the person or persons either male or female, and either resident in England or abroad, who shall have done well for the advancement of the Science of Geology; or, from time to time to accumulate the annual proceeds for a period not exceeding six years, and apply the said accumulated annual proceeds to some object of special research bearing on Stratigraphical or Physical Geology, to be carried out by one single individual or by a Committee; or, failing these objects, to accumulate the annual proceeds for either three or six years and devote such proceeds to such special purposes as may be decided'.


2002 winner : Adrian William Amsler Rushton

Legal notice - Contact

Copyright © 2013 - - All rights reserved