Fellow Awards / Computer science / Scientific prizes and awards - CIRS

International Center for Scientific Research

Scientific prizes and awards / Computer science

Fellow Awards

Computer History Museum


For over a decade, the Computer History Museum has been publicly recognizing individuals of outstanding merit who have contributed to the development of computing. Chosen on the basis of accomplishment--formal education is not a factor--are nominated by a panel composed of Museum staff, industry peers, and former Fellows.

At least 10 years must have elapsed between a specific contribution and an individual's nomination in order to properly assess the historical importance of his/her achievements. The contribution must thus be of a foundational nature, one that has strongly influenced the intellectual, disciplinary, or industrial underpinnings of computing.

No preference is given to accomplishments in software or hardware, to computer science over electrical engineering or any other formal discipline, to commercial success, or to the nominee's age.


2007 Fellow Awards honorees : Morris Chang, John Hennessy, David A. Patterson and Charles Thacker.

Legal notice - Contact

Copyright © 2013 - www.cirs.info - All rights reserved