John L. Synge Award / General / Scientific prizes and awards - CIRS

International Center for Scientific Research

Scientific prizes and awards / General

John L. Synge Award

Academies of Arts, Humanities and Sciences of Canada


The John L. Synge Award was established in 1986 by RSC to honour John Lighton Synge (1897-1995), FRS, FRSC, one of the first mathematicians working in Canada to obtain international recognition through research in mathematics. Professor Synge, a Member of the Royal Irish Academy, was Head of the Department of Applied Mathematics at the University of Toronto and later a senior Professor at the Dublin Institute of Advanced Studies. He was the first recipient of the Henry Marshall Tory Medal of RSC. The award was endowed by friends of J.L. Synge, RSC Fellows, the McLean Foundation and his daughter, Cathleen Synge Morawetz, FRSC.

The award is given for outstanding research in any of the branches of the mathematical sciences. In cases where there are two or more strong candidates, some preference is given to those whose age is not over forty in the year of the award. It consists of a diploma and a cash amount of $2,500 and is offered at irregular intervals if there is a suitable candidate.

The selection committee consists of five Fellows from mathematics and related disciplines in the Mathematical and Physical Sciences Division who shall serve for three years. The Division shall appoint a Chair, for a one-year term, from among those committee members continuing into the latter part of their term.


2008 – Henri Darmon, FRSC

Legal notice - Contact

Copyright © 2013 - - All rights reserved