The Prize in Applied Oceanography / Earth sciences / Scientific prizes and awards - CIRS

International Center for Scientific Research

Scientific prizes and awards / Earth sciences

The Prize in Applied Oceanography

Canadian Meteorological and Oceanographic Society


The Prize in Applied Oceanography may be awarded each year to a member or members of the Society for an outstanding contribution to the application of oceanography in Canada.


To: Keith Thompson, Harold Ritchie, Josko Bobanovic, Natacha Bernier, Serge Desjardins, Allan MacAfee and George Parkes for the development and implementation of a new operational storm surge model at MSC-Atlantic. This system, recently enhanced with tidal information to form a Storm Surge and Water Level Alert System, has already demonstrated its value with timely warnings for a number of severe coastal marine events.

Legal notice - Contact

Copyright © 2013 - - All rights reserved