Beckenbach Book Prize / Mathematics / Scientific prizes and awards - CIRS

International Center for Scientific Research

Scientific prizes and awards / Mathematics

Beckenbach Book Prize

Mathematical Association of America


The Beckenbach Book Prize, established in 1986, is the successor to the MAA Book Prize which was established in 1982. It is named for the late Edwin Beckenbach, a long-time leader in the publications program of the Association and a well-known professor of mathematics at the University of California at Los Angeles. This prize of $1,000 is awarded to an author of a distinguished, innovative book published by the MAA. The award is not given on a regularly scheduled basis, but is given only when a book appears that is judged to be truly outstanding.


William P. Berlinghoff and Fernando Q. Gouvêa Math through the Ages: a Gentle History for Teachers and Others, The Mathematical Association of America & Oxton House Publishers, 2004

Legal notice - Contact

Copyright © 2013 - - All rights reserved